MiniSchools

The academy is divided into 4 mini-schools where both academic and pastoral needs focus on developing the progress of your child. Each mini-school is named after a scientist who has significantly contributed to our current mathematical and scientific knowledge. Students are assigned to a mini-school on entry and remain part of this school in years 7 to 11. All mini-schools are headed by a progress leader and pastoral manager.

MSL-BrunelBrunel School – named after Isambard Kingdom Brunel, an English mechanical and civil engineer who is considered “one of the most ingenious and prolific figures in engineering history”, “one of the 19th century engineering giants”, and “one of the greatest figures of the Industrial Revolution, who changed the face of the English landscape with his ground-breaking designs and ingenious constructions”.

“Make tomorrow better by learning from the errors of today”

Progress Leader: Mrs J Garvey (j.garvey@greatbarr.bham.sch.uk)

Pastoral Manager: Mr S Rees (s.rees@greatbarr.bham.sch.uk)

MSL-DarwinDarwin School – named after Charles Darwin the English naturalist and geologist, best known for his contributions to the science of evolution.

“It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent. It is the one that is the most adaptable to change.”

Progress Leader: Mrs K Twigg (k.twigg@greatbarr.bham.sch.uk)

Pastoral Manager: Mrs G Morgan (g.morgan@greatbarr.bham.sch.uk)

MSL-FranklinFranklin School – named after Rosalind Franklin, an English chemist and X-ray crystallographer who made contributions to the understanding of the molecular structures of DNA.

“By doing our best we shall come nearer to success”

Progress Leader: Ms E Painter (e.painter@greatbarr.bham.sch.uk)

Pastoral Manager: Mr M Thewlis (m.thewlis@greatbarr.bham.sch.uk)

MSL-JohnsonJohnson School – named after Katherine Johnson, an African American physicist and mathematician who made contributions to the United States’ aeronautics and space programs with the early application of digital electronic computers at NASA. Katherine Johnson was also known as ‘the human computer’.

You must find a mission to pursue with passion to keep you learning in life”

Progress Leader: Mrs C Hill (c.hill@greatbarr.bham.sch.uk)

Pastoral Manager: Miss S Jones (s.e.jones@greatbarr.bham.sch.uk)

All students will receive a progress report at 3 points in the academic year. Dates are published for each year group on our overview calendar. At Great Barr Academy each student has a target grade that they are working towards and to help you understand the academic progress of your son/daughter we use a LEGO scale which indicates whether the student is making less than expected progress, expected progress, good progress or outstanding progress in working to achieve their target grades in each subject. The booklet titled “Your child’s future success … Education is changing” [Click here to download] explains the reporting system and the changed to the GCSE grading system.

contact-top