Staff-HeaderOur people buttonGoverners buttonStaff button

Senior Leadership Team

Mrs I Abrahams – Headteacher
Mrs I Abrahams became Headteacher in June 2015 but she has had a long association with the Academy starting in 1986 when she joined the Academy as a Newly Qualified Teacher of Religious Studies. Within a very short period of time, she had been promoted to Head of Department. She left in 1992 to develop her career elsewhere but returned to us in 2008 as Deputy Head Teacher (Teaching & Learning).

Miss E Edwards – Deputy Head Teacher (Teaching, Learning and Curriculum)
Ms Edwards joined the Academy in September 2015 having previously been an Assistant Head Teacher at Dormston School. Prior to her teaching career she spent 5 years working in the field of genetics.

Mr A Williams – Deputy Head Teacher (Pastoral & Designated Safeguarding Lead)
Mr Williams joined the Academy in 2004 as a Newly Qualified Science Teacher having already had a very successful career in the Financial Services sector. He has previously held the post of Assistant Head Teacher (KS3).

Dr J Bartlett – Deputy Head Teacher (Achievement and Data, leading Maths)
Dr Bartlett joined the Academy in September 2015. She is author of a number of key books on best practice in the teaching of Maths and on Assessment for Learning.

Mr M Haynes – Director of Sixth Form
Mr Haynes joined Great Barr Academy as Deputy Head Teacher (Pastoral) in September 2006 having previously been a Deputy Head Teacher at Hodge Hill School.

Mr J Twigg – Assistant Head Teacher (KS4)
Mr Twigg joined the Academy in 2000 as a Newly Qualified Science Teacher and was very quickly promoted through the House System, leading Dudley House for many years. Since then, he has been Director of Year 7 and Assistant Head Teacher (KS3). He has led the Academy Pupil Premium and Attendance strategies.

Mrs J Finlay – Assistant Head Teacher (Pastoral)